Manufactured Housing Division

Eligibility and Frequently Asked Questions

Close this Window

  1. When can I renew my license?
  2. How do I know if I am eligible?
  3. What do I do if Iím not eligible to renew online?
  4. If I renew online, will I get my license faster than if I renew by mail or in person?
  5. How does the online renewal process work?
  6. Can I change my name as part of the online renewal or address change?
  7. Can I change my address at the time of renewal?
  8. Are there any continuing education requirements for renewing my license?
  9. Can I print a copy of my entire license/registration renewal information?
  10. What online payment options are available?
  11. What information do I need to make a payment online?
  12. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license?
  13. When I renew online, it does not recognize my license number. Does this have to be case sensitive?

  1. When can I renew my license?
    As early as 60 days prior to the license expiration date, and as late as 365 days after expiration.
    • A license that has been expired for 90 days or less may be renewed at a cost of 1 ½ times the normally required renewal fee. This will be automatically calculated, and payment of the full amount will be required upon renewal.
    • A license that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year may be renewed at a cost of two times the normally required renewal fee. This will be automatically calculated, and payment of the full amount will be required upon renewal.
    • If a license has been expired for one year or more, it cannot be renewed. You may obtain a new license by complying with the requirements and procedures for obtaining an original license. (Top)
  2. How do I know if I am eligible?
    You may be eligible to renew your license online if you can certify that these are true statements (items 3 - 7 do not apply to salespersons):
    1. Neither I, nor a corporate officer or partner, have been convicted in Texas, or any other state, of any felony or misdemeanor offense, other than a Class C misdemeanor for a traffic violation, in the last 24 months.
    2. I have completed the required 8 hours of continuing education.
    3. There has been no change in business name that has not yet been reported to TDHCA.
    4. There has been no change in location that has not yet been reported to TDHCA.
    5. There has been no change in corporate officers that has not yet been reported to TDHCA.
    6. I am not in arrears on any taxes owed the State of Texas.
    7. I am not in arrears on a guaranteed student loan.
    (Top)
  3. What do I do if I’m not eligible to renew online?
    You must submit your renewal application by mail or in person. You may also be required to submit other supporting documentation to prove eligibility for license renewal. License renewal information and applications are available on the web at http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/mh/industry-info.htm. (Top)
  4. If I renew online, will I get my license faster than if I renew by mail or in person?
    Processing time is 7 working days from the date that all renewal requirements are met and payment is processed. Online renewals are submitted daily to the agency, eliminating the mailing time to the agency. (Top)
  5. How does the online renewal process work?
    The process is simple. First, on the “Login” page you enter your license number, all 14 characters (i.e. MHSLSP00099999). On the same page you enter your license expiration date in MMDDYYYY format (i.e. 09052004), which allows the application to verify eligibility. If you are eligible to renew, you will be given an option to proceed with the online renewal process. Next, you will have an opportunity to review and update your mailing address. Then you will move to the Invoice Page, where you will certify the information you have provided and enter payment information. Finally, you will have the opportunity to view and print the transaction receipt. The renewed license will be mailed to the licensee by TDHCA. (Top)
  6. Can I change my name as part of the online renewal or address change?
    No, name changes must be done in writing to the TDHCA Austin office, providing all required documentation. (Top)
  7. Can I change my address at the time of renewal?
    Yes, you can change your MAILING address at the time of renewal. Your license and any future correspondence will be mailed to the mailing address that you provide. For changes to the location or physical address or your business, please contact TDHCA directly. (Top)
  8. Are there any continuing education requirements for renewing my license?
    Proof of successful completion of 8 hours of continuing education is required for all license renewals. (Top)
  9. Can I print a copy of my entire license/registration renewal information?
    Yes, there is a printer friendly version of the renewal information available. (Top)
  10. What online payment options are available?
    Payments can be made by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express) or ACH electronic check. (Top)
  11. What information do I need to make a payment online?
    For a credit card payment, you will need a valid credit card number, the credit card type, the credit card expiration date (month and year), and the complete billing name and address. (Top)
  12. Can I use my printed payment receipt as a temporary license?
    No, the printed receipt only verifies that you have applied and paid for your renewal. (Top)
  13. When I renew online, it does not recognize my license number. Does this have to be case sensitive?
    Yes, the license types must be entered in all CAPS. Additionally, the license number must be 14 characters long. For example:
    Manufacturer = MHDMAN00000123
    Retailer = MHDRET000012345
    Retailer/Installer = MHDRET000012345
    Retailer/Broker = MHDRET000012345
    Retailer/Broker/Installer = MHDRET00012345
    Broker = MHDBRK00001234
    Installer = MHDINS00001234
    Salvage Rebuilder = MHDSRB00001234
    Salesperson = MHSLSP00012345

(Top)