- If you or someone you know is in need of assistance, please visit our Help for Texans page.
Texas Housing Trust Fund
Homebuyer Assistance Program (Archived – Program closed in 2013 and is no longer available)
The HTF Homebuyer Assistance (HBA) Program provides eligible borrowers with up to $10,000 in the form of a zero percent interest loan for down payment and closing cost assistance for the acquisition of a single family home that must be used as a principal residence. The program will serve first time homebuyers and veterans whose annual income does not exceed 80% of the Area Median Family Income.
- To Register a Borrower, visit the Loan Reservation System page.
- Units of Local Government;
- Nonprofit Organizations;
- Public Housing Authorities; and
- For-Profit Organizations.
Download the list of all lending organizations that are currently approved to administer in the Housing Trust Fund HBA program:
Program Details and Requirements
Funding Source: State of Texas
Administrative Fee: 4% of loan amount paid to the Administrator after the loan has closed
Maximum Loan: $10,000
Loan Term: Five to ten years, per borrower’s choice
Interest Rate: 0%
First Payment: Due no later than on the sixty-first (61) month after the first payment date of the Senior Lien loan.
Eligible Properties: New and existing...
- Single family homes
- Manufactured housing (certain restrictions may apply)
Eligible Borrowers: First time homebuyers (This requirement is waived for Veterans, as defined in the NOFA.)
Borrower’s income: May not exceed 80% of the Area Median Family Income (AMFI).
Liquid Assets: May not exceed $15,000 (excluding retirement and/or 401K accounts).
Maximum Debt Ratio: Total debt-to-income ratio may not exceed 45%, unless the Senior Lien(s) are insured or guaranteed by USDA, FHA, VA, Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac.
Home Value Limits: The total contracted purchase price of the housing unit must not exceed the Single Family Mortgage Limits under Section 203(b) of the National Housing Act
Combined Loan-to-Value (CLTV) Ratio: May not exceed 105% of the appraised value.
HBA Program Lien: 2nd or 3rd lien position.
Senior Lien Loan: Fully amortized, fixed-rate loan
Types of Loans: FHA, VA, USDA/RD/RHS, Fannie Mae & Freddie Mac; uninsured loans are subject to the Department’s approval.
Fees/Points: Administrator may charge borrower the following fees (unless the Senior Liens(s) are insured or guaranteed by USDA, FHA, VA, Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac):
- Origination Fee: 1%
- Buyer Points: 1%
- Title Policy (if paid by Borrower): 1%
- Application Fee: May not exceed $325 (includes compliance and funding fees)
- Other Closing Costs: Must be fully disclosed on HUD-1 and may not exceed 1.5% of loan amount.