Texas Department of Housing & Community Affairs - Building Homes and Strengthening Communities

TDHCA Board Approves CDBG Disaster Relief Grants for Non-Housing Needs

The TDHCA Board on August 30 awarded $30.5 million in Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds to four Councils of Government (COGs) working to address the unmet non-housing needs of 29 counties devastated by Hurricane Rita. The funds will help repair or replace critical public infrastructure facilities damaged by the September 2005 storm.

TDHCA is administering CDBG Hurricane Disaster Relief grants in conjunction with the Office of Rural Community Affairs.

The four grant awards included $12.2 million to Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG), which has offices in Jasper and Lufkin; $2.1 million to East Texas Council of Governments (ETCOG), headquartered in Kilgore; $3.7 million to the Houston-Galveston Area Council (H-GAC), headquartered in Houston; and $12.5 million to South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC), located in Beaumont.

Congress in late 2005 awarded Texas $74.5 million in CDBG funds for unmet hurricane disaster relief assistance. TDHCA on July 28 approved contracts for $40.2 million in grants to these four COGs for emergency home repairs, home rehabilitation, and new home construction. The awards made on August 30 reflect the balance of the $74.5 million in disaster relief funds for non-housing activities.