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GENERAL INFORMATION 
The Manufactured Housing industry is regulated by Chapter 1201 of the 
Texas Occupations Code, administered by the Texas Department of 
Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA), Manufactured Housing 
Division (MHD).  While the MHD is part of the TDHCA, it is only 
administratively attached to the agency and operates independently under 
its own Executive Director and governing Board. 
The MHD is responsible for recording ownership and liens, recording tax 
liens, issuing occupational licenses to manufacturers, retailers, brokers, 
installers and salespersons.  The MHD also enforces the law, provides 
consumer protection, and consumer remedy through the Manufactured 
Homeowner Consumer Claims Program (Claims Program). 

DEADLINES AND APPLICABLE FEES 

Applications for Statement of Ownership - Must be received complete, with the fee, 
within 60 days from the date of sale.  The application fee is $55 per application. 

Form T – Must be received complete, with the fee, within 7 days from the date of 
installation.  Form T fees are $75 for a single-wide home, $100 for a double-wide home 
and $125 for a triple-wide home. 

Renewal License – Must be received complete, with the fee, by the date of expiration or 
the late fees apply.  

Warranty Order – Must be complied with in 30 days, or the time specified in the order, 
or license holder is subject to Director’s Disciplinary Meeting and must show cause why 
their license shouldn’t be suspended or revoked. 
 
TAX STATEMENT REQUIREMENTS 

Sales from January 1st to June 30th: 
1. Require a tax statement confirming that previous year’s taxes were paid in full. 
2. Requires a statement that present year’s taxes have been estimated, paid, and held 

in escrow. 

Sales from July 1st through September 31st: 
1. Require a statement that the present year’s taxes have been estimated, paid, and 

held in escrow. 

Sales from October 1st through December 31st:  
1. Require a tax statement confirming that the present year’s taxes have been paid  

in full. 
 
COMMON MISTAKES ON …  

Application for Statement of Ownership 
• Physical address not provided (can’t be PO Box). 
• Date of sale left off. 
• Election as personal or real property not made. 
• Signatures not provided or have not been notarized. 
• Tax liens exist on the record. 
• Statement of no taxes due not included. 
• Fee is not submitted. 

 
Form T 
• Method of installation not noted. 
• Map is not provided. 
• Serial and/or HUD Label number left off. 
• Fee not submitted. 

Helpful Guidelines 
MHD CONTACT INFORMATION 

Customer Service 800-500-7074 
For the general public 

Support Services Unit 888-576-2240 
For lenders, title companies, attorney’s offices, and 
industry needing titling/Statement of Ownership 
assistance. 

Mailing Address 
P. O. Box 12489, Austin, Texas  78711 

Field Support 
512-475-4085 
mhfieldoffice@tdhca.state.tx.us 

Email Addresses 
processing@tdhca.state.tx.us - For sending general 
titling inquiries, status updates, and questions. 

mhrairesponse@tdhca.state.tx.us - For emailing 
responses to our Requests for Additional Information 
(RAI).  This email address only receives scanned 
images.  Emails are not read from this address, 
nor is there a response. 

mhelectionperfection@tdhca.state.tx.us - For 
emailing the Statement of Ownership and Location, 
which has been stamped “Filed” by the County 
Clerk, in order to perfect an election to real property.  
The only thing that needs to be sent is the actual 
Statement of Ownership and/or the attached page 
with the date stamp.  Be sure to also send a copy to 
the taxing entity and appraisal district. 

licensing@tdhca.state.tx.us - For emailing inquiries 
or scanned images of manufactured housing 
occupational licensing documents. 

installations@tdhca.state.tx.us - For emailing 
inquiries or scanned images of Installation Reports. 

OTHER IMPORTANT NUMBERS  
AND WEBSITES 

TX Comptroller’s Off. www.comptroller.texas.gov 
 800-252-5555 

TX Dept. Insurance www.tdi.texas.gov 
 800-252-3439 

TX Dept. Lic. & Reg. www.license.state.tx.us 
 800-803-9202 

TX Dept. of Transportation www.txdot.gov 
 800-558-9368 

TX Finance Commission www.fc.texas.gov 
 877-276-5554 

TX Secretary of State www.sos.state.tx.us 
 512-463-5555 

TX Off. of Cons. Credit www.occc.texas.gov 
 800-538-1579 

TX Real Estate Commission www.trec.texas.gov 
 512-936-3005 

TX Dept. of Banking www.dob.texas.gov 
 877-276-5554 

Environmental Protection Agency www.epa.gov 

Federal Emerg Mgmt Agency  www.fema.gov 

Housing and Urban Development www.hud.gov 

Jim R. Hicks 
Executive Director 

Manufactured 
Housing Division 

 

http://www.tdhca.state.tx.us/mh/index.htm 
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